Supporting Organizations

Pastoral Council The Parish Pastoral Council is consultative to the pastor and operates under the principles of shared responsibility and accountability. Contact: Pat Ellis, Chairperson – 656-0707 pellis@rgare.com Finance Council The Finance Council advises the pastor in all church and school financial matters. Its mission is to have open communication with the entire parish about our financial situation. Other goals include setting monetary policy and procedure, analyzing current and past financial reports and making recommendations to ensure financial stability. Contact: Mike Benker – 345-4343  

Read More

Parish History

In 1856 the first frame building church was built on land still owned by the parish. From these beginnings, we have seen this parish grow from a struggling Mission Church to the large parish it is today. From that frame church there came a beautiful church, a large school, a convent, a rectory/parish office and a parish center, but even more important than the buildings, from that mere handful of dedicated Catholics, the parish has grown to become one of the outstanding parishes in the Springfield Diocese. Our parish continues to grow spiritually and physically. In the early years of

Read More

Ss. Peter & Paul Cemetery

In 1865, Rev. Anthony Rustige purchased the first land for the cemetery at the end of East Main Street. The last land acquisition was a gift of the Hedden family in 1962. As late as 1890 the cemetery was still outside the city limits. Orient Street was the boundary. Over 4,000 people are buried here, including five priests: Rev. Francis Sheila and Msgr. B. N. Manning, both born in Ireland, Rev. Charles Muskus, Rev. Vincent Jalinsky, and Rev. Ron Nesbitt. Burials also include veterans of every war since the Civil War. A special mass is said at the cemetery on Memorial

Read More

Parish Staff

    Rev. John Beveridge Pastor 618.345.4343, Ext. 100 frjohn@saintspeter-paul.org   Deacon Jimmy Ghiglione Permanent Deacon, Director of Faith Formation 618.345.4343, Ext.101 jghiglione@saintspeter-paul.org   Deacon Jim Hill Permanent Deacon 618.345.4343, Ext. 104 deaconjim@saintspeter-paul.org Rev. Br. Fernando Solomon, OP Miss. Transitional Deacon 618.345.4343 fsolomon@dio.org Camille Emig-Hill Director of Human Resources and Communications 618.345.4343, Ext. 102 chill@saintspeter-paul.org Maggie Brennan Director of Pastoral Care 618.345.4343, Ext. 111 mbrennan@saintspeter-paul.org Nick Robinson Director of Liturgical Music 618.660.8215 nick.robinson@edwardjones.com Teri Lesicko Director of Finance and Development 618.345.4343. ext. 105 tlesicko@saintspeter-paul.org   Leslie Duff Coordinator of Facilities 618.345.4343, Ext. 108 lduff@saintspeter-paul.org   Kimberly Zagorski Coordinator of Faith Formation 618.345.4343, Ext. 103 kzagorski@saintspeter-paul.org

Read More

Welcome to A Spiritual Home for Everyone

Welcome to Ss. Peter & Paul Parish.  Our mission-“A Catholic community centered in Christ called to serve God and each other”-offers us all the opportunity to live a life of true Christian discipleship that is deeply rooted in the person of Jesus Christ. At Ss. Peter & Paul, we believe it is of utmost importance to meet members’ spiritual needs and help them develop a personal relationship with Jesus by focusing on being good stewards of God’s gifts to us. We have focused on doing that by emphasizing our role as a disciple of Christ to be people of Prayer

Read More